Amex, come on. It’s security 101

I did not expect this from Amex. Managing numerous userid/paswords is hard and as was bound to happen, I could not recollect my password for the Amex site. Ok, no big deal. I’ll just reset it. Take a look at Amex’s password reset screen.

Amex Password Reset

The password needs be between 6 and 8 characters. So why the heck do you even let me enter 9 characters? No special characters? Oh, come on! You are a financial institution for crying out loud!!

Had it not been for the fact that Amex was the first credit card company that was willing to overlook my lack of credit history in the US and issue me a credit card, and that Amex is the only credit card accepted at Costco, I would have immediately cancelled it.

About Ramesh Sringeri

Yet another chaos monkey. View all posts by Ramesh Sringeri

Leave a Reply

